Nguyen takes Main Event title at Bay 101 Fall Poker Classic

By Arnold Warner

Bay 101 Casino in San Jose held the annual Fall Poker Classic tournament series from Oct. 15 to 22. The six events had a total of 1,028 entries and amassed prize pools that summed up to more than half a million dollars.

Minh Nguyen won the no-limit Hold’em Main Event, earning a top prize of $48,150. There were 336 entries in this three-day tournament (two Day 1s, followed by Day 2). The buy-in was $1,100, which created a prize pool of $336,000. The other top 10 finishers were Kipley Fiebig $41,390, Adam Duong $32,340, Wilson Chan $35,030, anonymous $28,670, Steven To $13,290, Raghuram Jonnalagedda $11,160, Viet Tran $9,160, Scott Sanders $7,180, and Pat Lyons $6,050.

First on the agenda was Event #1, the $350 “20/20” no-limit Hold’em tournament. Players started with 20,000 chips and played 20-minute levels. It attracted 139 entries for a $41,700 prize pool. First place went to a player choosing to remain anonymous who received $8,650. After that came Benedicto Cruz $5,940, Srikanth Kurmana $5,790, Joseph Mussat $5,600, and Billy Huynh $2,040.

Next was the Omaha Hi-Lo event with 65 players, $355 buy-in, and $19,500 in prize money. Omar Mehmood $5,300 was the big winner, followed by Jason Kawamoto $4,170, Moon Kim $3,210, Karl Duffy $1,710, and Tal Hart $1,320.

Then it was back to no-limit Hold’em for Event #3, the $560 “Monster Stack” that featured 30,000 starting chips. There were 233 players and a prize pool of $116,500. The top spot went to Victor Paredes $27,230 and also featured Arthur Dyogi $19,120, Chen Balteriski $11,940, San Nim $7,260, Robert Spence $5,610, Kelly Douglas $4,650, Srinivas Dudi $3,960, Moshe Gavrieli $3,380, and Robert Sears $2,720.

Event #4 was the re-entry tournament with a $240 buy-in. The prize pool of $30,800 was created by 154 entries. The top five spots went to Ratu Caucau $6,750, Dung Diep $6,600, Gilman Palacios $3,160, Lokesh Manohar $1,920, and Bryan Cassalia $1,480.

The penultimate event was the $550 Double Stack Turbo, with a numerologically significant 101 entries and a $5,500 prize pool. The big finishers were Arun Sharma $12,935, Rellie Sigua $11,935, John Horvath $5,810, David Allison $3,790, and Aaron Morris $2,960.